Reports of kidnaps, arrests, unlawful detentions, tortures, disappears of National Unity Platform (NUP) coordinators or opposition candidates going on in Mukono district, Uganda. These are few of the many cases being published by Freedom Uganda.

Articles 9 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights:

1. Everyone has the right to liberty and security of person. No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest or detention. No one shall be deprived of his liberty except on such grounds and in accordance with such procedure as are established by law.
2. Anyone who is arrested shall be informed, at the time of arrest, of the reasons for his arrest and shall be promptly informed of any charges against him.
3. Anyone arrested or detained on a criminal charge shall be brought promptly before a judge or other officer authorized by law to exercise judicial power and shall be entitled to trial within a reasonable time or to release. It shall not be the general rule that persons awaiting trial shall be detained in custody, but release may be subject to guarantees to appear for trial, at any other stage of the judicial proceedings, and, should occasion arise, for execution of the judgement.
4. Anyone who is deprived of his liberty by arrest or detention shall be entitled to take proceedings before a court, in order that that court may decide without delay on the lawfulness of his detention and order his release if the detention is not lawful.
5. Anyone who has been the victim of unlawful arrest or detention shall have an enforceable right to compensation.

  1. National Unity Platform coordinators from Katoogo Parish, Nama Sub-county in Mukono District detained at Mukono Police Station.

2. Arrested and detained below are Muhammad Kanata, Musa Male and Julius Kiberu. Others from the same area include Isma Ssenkubuge, Sula Kiwanuka, Juma Mukasa, Joseph Kyakuwa, Steven Ntulume, Gaz Kabanda, Ssemipjja, Musa Kajimu and Kharim. All kidnapped by security operatives in Uganda from the villages of Buntaba, Kabembe, Kisowera, Katoogo and Walusubi in Mukono District.

Leave a Reply